George Gongadze Prize

George Gongadze Prize

This award was established by PEN Ukraine in partnership with the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School, the Alumni Association of the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School and the Ukrayinska Pravda publication.

Full information on the activities and projects of the George Gongadze Prize is available on the Prize website .

Who is the Prize created for?

The George Gongadze Prize is designed to support journalists who are not afraid of challenges, are able to find innovative ways of conveying information, promote liberal reforms in Ukraine, open new opportunities for the media, are able to create sustainability in what they do and remain true to professional principles. .

Criteria for nominating applicants

- commitment to the principles and values of independent journalism;
- professionalism and competence;
- innovation;
- a significant contribution to the development of a particular genre or media environment as a whole;
- creation of materials that have led to the solution or understanding of certain problems in society and changes in the country.

* Only journalists working in Ukraine who have remained in the profession for the last 5 years can apply for the Prize.


The George Gongadze Prize is awarded once a year on May 21, George Gongadze's birthday. The winner is awarded a statuette, diploma and award in the amount of 100 thousand UAH .

Chapter of the Prize

The Chapter of the Prize consists of 9 people. Regardless of the year, the Chapter includes a Gongadze family member, the president of PEN Ukraine, representatives of Ukrayinska Pravda, the Alumni Association of the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School and the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School, and last year's laureate. Six representatives of the Chapter are responsible for inviting three additional members to be elected from among Ukrainian media experts, media managers, moral authorities and leading intellectuals. Invited members of the Chapter may be members of the Chapter for no more than 3 years.

The Chapter of the 2022 Prize included:

Myroslava Gongadze - wife of George, journalist, VOA's Eastern Europe Bureau Chief;
Andriy Kurkov - President of PEN Ukraine, writer;
Olena Prytula - journalist, co-founder and owner of Ukrainian Pravda;
Oleksandr Savruk - the dean of the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School;
Myrоslava Barchuk - journalist, winner of the George Gongadze Prize 2021;
Anton Artemenko - Patron of the Prize, graduate of Kyiv-Mohyla Business School;
Inna Kuznetsova - head of the Kyiv bureau of Radio Svoboda;
Igor Kozlovsky - theologian, writer, member of PEN Ukraine;
Zurab Alasania - media manager.

Procedure for determining the winner

The winner is determined in three stages. At the first stage, the members of the Chapter propose candidates with a short written justification. In the second stage, the members of the Chapter vote for a short list of nominees. In the third stage, voting for the winner takes place.

* The prize may be revoked by the members of the Chapter , and the laureate will be deprived of his status if he commits an act contrary to the ethical and professional norms of journalism.

Winners of the Gongadze Prize:

Laureate of 2022: journalists Mstyslav Chernov and Evgeny Maloletka.

Finalists of 2022: Serhiy Sydorenko, Tetyana Troshchynska.

Laureate of 2021: journalist, host of the "Countdown" program Myroslava Barchuk.

Finalists of 2021: Borys Davydenko, Marichka Paplauskaite.

Laureate of 2020 : publicist, radio and TV presenter Pavlo Kazarin .

Finalists of 2020: Roman Vintonov, Bohdan Logvynenko.

Laureate of 2019: Founder of "Istorychna pravda" publication (Historical Truth), Press Archive Museum Vakhtang Kipiani.

Finalists of 2019: Serhiy Rakhmanin, Taras Prokopyshyn.

Award ceremony

In addition to the award ceremony, it includes a speech on George Gongadze and a lecture on the challenges facing freedom of speech in Ukraine and around the world today.

Award design

Twiga Ukraine

Patrons of the Prize

Since 2019, the patrons of the Prize are: Oleksand Adamyuk, Anton Artemenko, the Brunner family, Oleg Brusilovsky, the Viknyansky family, Yaroslav Volkovetsky, Mykola Demchenko and Olga Myshurovska, Maryna Derepa, Serhiy Dulepov, Maksym Dyadyk, Andriy Iask, Roman Kvashenko, the Mishchenko family, Dmitry Novitsky, Lyudmyla Perebyinos, Oksana Prosolenko, Andriy Selepey, Vitaly Smirnov, Mykola Sushko, Oleksandr Tkachuk, Dmytro Chernov.

War Human Rights Losses Dialogues on War Lace Solidarity War Diaries FreeSentsov Prisoners of the Kremlin Victories of PEN Members Movies for the weekend Regulations Prostir with Myroslava Barchuk Words and Bullets SolidarityWords BoycottRussia PEN Center Discussions Culture in standby mode Bridges instead of walls FreeAseyev ReadWomenPEN People with empty chairs Journalism of independent Ukraine PEN_TEN 100 Notable Books in Ukrainian What will give us strength? Book fairs Map of Ukraine Days of Essayism 100 iconic novels and short stories 30 years. Culture Regional meeting of PEN centers Belarusian PEN Crimea. Summer season Peace and War The best books of the year according to PEN Ukrainian language New translations PEN members' lyrics Freedom to be a woman Intellectual studios Residences Kharkiv Literary Residence Who creates the future of Ukrainian media Focus topic of Ukrainian PEN UKRAINE LAB Video Explainers Price of the word PEN International Stay in the profession Returning your names Empty Chairs Day 30 years in 30 photos Position Book evening with PEN Ukraine Peace and War 83rd Congress of the International PEN Власні назви We will wake up others Online residence for German translators Інтелектуальні вечори у просторі ПЕН Літературно-волонтерські поїздки Незламні бібліотеки FreeYesypenko FreeMustafayevServer FreeTemeryanov FreeSaliev FreeIbragimovTimur FreeSheykhaliyevRustem FreeDanilovych FreeAmetSuleymanov FreeAmetov FreeBekirovRemzy freeMaksymButkevych FreeSuleymanovRuslan FreeNarimanCelal FreeAsanAhtemov FreeOsmanArifmemetov FreeAsanovSuleyman FreeBessarabov All