Kalytko Kateryna

Born on 8 March 1982 in Vinnytsia, Kateryna is a Ukrainian poetess, translator, author of poetry collections and prose works.

The works of Kateryna Kalytko have been printed in periodicals, including journals: “World-View”, “Ukrainian Problems”, “Moloda Ukraina”, “Courier of Kryvbas”, “Radar”; anthologies and almanacs: “Pryvitannia Zhyttia”, “Hranoslov”, “Beginnings. Anthology of Young Poetry” (1998), “Molode Vyno” (2000), “Collection” (2001), “Ukrainian Poetry of the XX century” (2001), “Polyphony. Poetry of Podillia of the XX century” (2002), “Best Poems about Love. Man’s Copy” (2007), “Two Tons” (2007), “Black and Red: A hundred Ukrainian poetesses of the XX century” (2011), “The Pulp: Anthology of Ukrainian Gustatory Poetry” and others.

At the age of 17, she has won a poetry competition “Hranoslov” (1999). She is a laureate of “Hranoslov” and Bohdan-Ihor Antonych “Pryvitannia Zhyttia” competitions; “Molode Vyno” reading prose contest and “Smoloskyp” Publishing House contest as well as “Blahosvit” literary prize. In 2017, Kateryna Kalytko’s book “The Land of All Those Lost, or Creepy Little Tales” by the Old Lion Publishing House won the BBC Book of the Year – 2017.

Participant of the Central European Initiative Fellowship for writers in residence.
In September of 2016, she received the Crystal Vilenica Award at Vilenica International Literary Festival.
In November of 2017, she won the Joseph Conrad Korzeniowski Literary Prize by the Polish Institute in Kyiv.

She researches and translates contemporary literature of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Series of stories of Miljenko Jergović, Snizhana Mulych, Semezdin Mehmedinović, Lamija Begagic and others were published in the “Courier of Krybas” journal as part of the author translation rubric “Contour Map”. Poetry collections of Miljenko Jergović and Stevan Tontić appeared in “Alarum” electronic journal.

Individual books published in Ukrainian translation:
Melina Kamerić “Shoes for Oscar Night” (Folio, 2013)
Miljenko Jergović “Stories about People and Animals” (Tempora, 2013)
Miljenko Jergović “Srda Sings in Twilight on Trinity” (Tempora, 2014)
Emir Kusturica “Death is an Unverified Rumour” (Tempora, 2014)
Nenad Veličković “Sahib” (Tempora, 2014)
Mileta Prodanović “Arcadia” (Tempora, 2015)
Mihajlo Pantić “A Walk in the Clouds” (Temporа, 2015)
Uglješa Šajtinac “Quite Modest Gifts” (Tempora, 2016)
Ozren Kebo “Sarajevo: A Beginner’s Guide” (Discursus, 2017)
Meša Selimović “Death and the Dervish”(Kruhovert, 2017)

She received “Courier of Kryvbas” and METAPHORA translation awards.

In December 2017, an independent publisher “Kruhovert” published Meša Selimović’s cult novel “Death and the Dervish” in translation by Kateryna Kalytko.

In May 2018, the Old Lion Publishing House issued Kateryna Kalytko’s new translation of the collection of 16 stories “Inshallah, Madonna, Inshallah” by a Bosnian and Croatian writer Miljenko Jergović.