The European Union Prize for Literature

The European Union Prize for Literature has been awarded since 2009. In the first place, it aims to support and internationally promote less renowned, but talented authors from different European countries. According to the requirements of the Prize, a nominee must be an author of between two to four published original books. This year, along with Ukraine the participating countries are Austria, Finland, France, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and the United Kingdom.

The Prize is financed by the Creative Europe program of the European Commission. Co-organizers of the Prize are: the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the European Writers’ Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP).

PEN Ukraine is the organisation partner of the European Union Prize for Literature in Ukraine.